Welcoming new members to the Yukonstruct board

Posted on


On July 22, many Yukonstruct members joined the board for the organization’s annual general meeting. The AGM was a success, and we’d like to take a moment to thank and acknowledge our outgoing board members, and welcome a few new members!

The Yukonstruct team would like to give special thanks to outgoing President, Glenn Piwowar (though he promises not to be a stranger! You’ll see him in Makespace and at Repair Café). Glenn has served the organization for many years as a board member, and has been an integral part of the Yukonstruct community since it first began. We’re so grateful for the guidance, time and passion Glenn has dedicated to the organization.

We’d also like to thank and acknowledge outgoing board members Chris O’Brien, who previously has served as both President and Secretary for the organization, and Maxim Naylor. Both Chris and Maxim brought strong guidance, humor and dedication to the startup community to our board, and we are so grateful for their contributions.

Members voted on four open seats, and 7 candidates put forward their names. We are SO excited to welcome three new board members: Antoinette GreenOliph, Erin Holm, Vernon Asp, and re-elected member Barrett Horne. 

You can read the full bios of all board members here. Antoinette brings many years of experience as a restaurateur and is well known for her love and support of the Whitehorse community. Vernon is an incredible artist, educator and mentor to many. He is currently involved with the Makespace community, and works out of one of the studio spaces. Erin has been a proud Makespace member since the day she moved to the Yukon, and currently produces her Den Designs in the woodshop. Each of these new members bring a strong depth of experience as entrepreneurs and community leaders, and we are honoured and thrilled to have them on our board.

Please join us in giving Antoinette, Vernon and Erin warm welcomes! And of course, huge thanks to the members continuing to serve: Stephanie Hawkins, Selene Vakharia, Barrett Horne, Antonio Zedda, Bob Shap, and Kathie Szpajcher. Yukonstruct’s new executive:

  • President: Stephanie Hawkins
  • Vice President: Selene Vakharia
  • Treasurer: Kathie Szpajcher
  • Secretary: Barrett Horne